Skip to main navigation.


ETREYS 2017 Group Picture



JNEC sponsored 18 area high school students  in the 31st annual East Texas Rural Electric Youth Seminar (ETREYS). The winning students were chosen by a selection committee comprised of nine JNEC members representing each district from throughout the JNEC service area. 

ETREYS is jointly sponsored by nine electric cooperatives from East Texas. The all-expense-paid conference was held June 26th – June 30th on the campus of East Texas Baptist University in Marshall, Texas. Programs focused on leadership development, problem-solving and team building.

At the 2018 ETREYS, nineteen scholarships were awarded at the conclusion of the seminar.  Levi Wright received a $750 scholarship and Corbin Foster received a $1,000 scholarship. Corbin Foster was chosen to represent our Cooperative as next year’s Youth Director.

The ETREYS program fosters positive ideals and values in young people. Participants have a valuable opportunity to work with other top students from throughout East Texas. Approximately 2,000 young people have attended past seminars and another 125 high school students were in attendance this year.

Cindy Montgomery serves as JNEC coordinator this year. Tana Tomplait, David McCauley and Addie Whitehead served as chaperons.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Together We Save icon educates members on how to conserve electricity Kids Zone icon educates children on energy Cooperative Action Network icon keeps members informed about energy legislation and regulation